Join AHPA | Member Login
Tuesday, December 01, 2015




Established in 2006, the annual AHPA Awards acknowledge individuals and organizations that make substantive, positive contributions to the herbal products industry.

Award Categories:

AHPA Herbal Hero Award recognizes an individual who makes an outstanding contribution to AHPA committees or initiatives.

AHPA Herbal Industry Leader Award recognizes a company that sets an example of outstanding business practices or an organization that works to move the industry forward above and beyond normal business practices.

AHPA Herbal Insight Award recognizes individuals or non-commercial organizations that have a significant impact on furthering knowledge and understanding of botanicals and their uses.

Nomination Process and Policies:

Only individuals employed by an AHPA member company may nominate individuals or companies for AHPA Awards.

In the AHPA Herbal Hero Award category, nominees must be employed by an AHPA member company; in the AHPA Herbal Industry Leader category, nominees must be an AHPA member company. Nominees for the AHPA Herbal Insight Award need not be associated with an AHPA member company- please note that nominations in this category are limited to individuals or non-commercial organizations only.

Nominees (companies and/or individuals) can be nominated in only one category each year.

Use this electronic form to submit a nomination >>

For more information contact Haley Chitty, 301.588.1171 ext. 104.

Selection Process:

Nominations are reviewed by members of AHPA’s Communications Committee, which represents a diverse group of industry stakeholders. The Committee recommends recipients for each award category and presents these recommendations to the American Herbal Products Association’s Board of Trustees for approval.


The AHPA Awards are presented at the annual AHPA Member Meeting and Breakfast held during Natural Products Expo West in Anaheim, Calif.

2015 AHPA Awards

2014 AHPA Awards

2013 AHPA Awards

2012 AHPA Awards

2011 AHPA Awards 

2010 AHPA Awards

2009 AHPA Awards

2008 AHPA Awards

2007 AHPA Awards

2006 AHPA Awards


AHPA Herbal Hero Award

Daniel Gagnon, owner of Herbs Etc. (2014)

Sidney Sudberg and Élan Sudberg of Alkemists Laboratories (2013)

Mitchell Coven, CEO & President, Vitality Works (2012)

Edward J. Fletcher, Chief Operating Officer, Strategic Sourcing, Invc. (2011)

Katie Huggins, Vice President of Quality Control, Traditional Medicinals (2010)

Gordon Walker, General Counsel, Nature’s Way Products, Inc. (2009)

Anthony Young, Esq., Partner, Kleinfeld, Kaplan & Becker, LLP (2008)

Beth Lambert, CEO, Herbalist & Alchemist, Inc. (2007)

Staci Eisner, Technical Director, PlusPharma, Inc. (2006)

AHPA Herbal Industry Leader Award

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps (2014)

Trout Lake Farm
, with special recognition of Martha Jane Johnson (2013)

Tom's of Maine (2012)

NOW Foods (2011)

Gaia Herbs (2010)

Sabinsa Corporation (2009)

Herb Pharm, Inc. (2008)

Traditional Medicinals (2007)

Nature’s Way Products, Inc. (2006)

AHPA Herbal Insight Award

Dr. Lyle Craker, Professor, University of Massachusetts Stockbridge School of Agriculture (2014)

Josef Brinckmann, Vice President of Sustainability, Traditional Medicinals (2013)

Roy Upton, Executive Director and Editor, American Herbal Pharmacopoeia (2012)

Members of the Expert Advisory Council for the revision to AHPA's Botanical Safety Handbook - Zoe Gardner, Michael McGuffin, Roy Upton, Mary Hardy, Tieraona Low Dog, Aviva Romm, Soaring Bear, David Winston, Lyle Craker, and Daniel Gagnon (2011)

Ikhlas A. Khan, Ph.D., Assistant Director, National Center for Natural Products Research and Professor of Pharmacognosy, University of Mississippi (2010)

Philip Waddington, N.D., Director General, Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Canada, 2000-2008 (2009)

Steven Foster, President, Steven Foster Group, Inc. (2008)

Stephen Straus, M.D., Director, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH, 1999-2006 (2008)

Joseph Betz, Ph.D., Director of the Dietary Supplement Methods and Reference Materials Program, Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH (2007)

Norman R. Farnsworth, Ph.D., Director, Program for Collaborative Research in the Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Illinois (2006)

Special Award

2014 AHPA Visionary Award: Virgo Executive Team

2013 AHPA Visionary Award: Lynda LeMole

2012 AHPA Visionary Award: Michael Roland Shaw Moore, Former Author and Teacher

2011 AHPA Visionary Award: James A. May, CEO of Wisdom Natural Brands



AHPA's 2015 sponsors:

AHPA greatly appreciates the support of its sponsors, but acknowledgement of these companies is not an endorsement, recommendation, or warranty by AHPA of any company or its products or services, and AHPA has no responsibility for any transaction entered into with any of these companies.