2008 AHPA Awards

The American Herbal Products Association highlights and applauds the dedication and heart of five individuals who have enhanced the herbal community by bestowing them with AHPA Awards during the association’s member meeting in Anaheim, Calif. March 13.

AHPA President Michael McGuffin and Board Chair Edward J. Fletcher emceed a lively morning ceremony and presented the following outstanding individuals with awards:

Anthony Young, Partner, Kleinfeld, Kaplan & Becker
AHPA General Counsel Tony Young received the Herbal Hero award for making outstanding contributions to AHPA committees and initiatives. Mr. Young’s deep reservoir of legal knowledge, sharp wit and dedication to the herbal community has enriched every facet of AHPA during his decade-long tenure.

Steven Foster, President, Steven Foster Group, Inc.
Acclaimed photographer Steven Foster was presented with the Herbal Insight award for furthering the knowledge and understanding of medicinal and aromatic plants through his excellent work as a photographer, author and consultant. Mr. Foster’s ability to capture the elegance and intimacy of the “human-plant relationship” continues to astound.

Stephen Straus, M.D, Director, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, National Institutes of Health (1999-2006)
Dr. Stephen Straus, the first director of NCCAM, was posthumously honored with the Herbal Insight award for his contributions to the field of herbal research. Dr. Straus’ insistence on rigorous experimental designs and the use of only well-characterized material revolutionized the study of herbs at NIH and changed the paradigm for botanical research.

Sara Katz and Ed Smith, Herb Pharm Co-Founders
The Herbal Industry Leader award is presented to a company with outstanding business practices. In Herb Pharm, Sara Katz and Ed Smith have built a company renowned for its commitment to quality, its rigorous standards and its heartfelt authenticity. Ms. Katz and “Herbal Ed” are as high quality as their wildcrafted extracts and tonics, and AHPA commends them on their exemplary leadership.

“For the third year, we have been honored to recognize top-notch representatives of the herbal industry with AHPA Awards,” said Michael McGuffin, the association’s president. “This is a very impressive slate of winners, and AHPA is pleased to know we will have an impressive slate of award recipients next year as well. Our awards thus far have only begun to honor the outstanding members of the herbal world.”

For more information contact Katia Fowler (kfowler@ahpa.org) 301.588.1171 x104.

 2008 AHPA Award Winners from left to right: Dr. Joe Betz,
Office of Dietary Supplements, accepting on behalf of Dr. Stephen Straus,
Steven Foster, Sara Katz, Ed Smith and Tony Young.