2009 AHPA Awards

The American Herbal Products Association’s (AHPA) annual AHPA Awards acknowledge individuals and organizations that make substantive, positive contributions to the herbal products industry. It was AHPA’s great pleasure to honor the following individuals and company during the association’s annual member meeting in Anaheim, Calif. on March 5:

Gordon Walker, General Counsel, Nature’s Way

Gordon Walker received the Herbal Hero award for his outstanding contributions to AHPA committees and initiatives. Mr. Walker has served on AHPA’s board since 2001 and is the chair of the association’s International Committee. His grounded presence, thoughtful comments and unhesitating willingness to contribute are exemplary, and Mr. Walker’s elections to positions of leadership in the association are a testament to the esteem in which he is held by his peers.

Dr. Philip Waddington, N.D., Director General, Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Canada (2000-2008)
AHPA honored Dr. Philip Waddington with the Herbal Insight award for furthering the knowledge and understanding of medicinal and aromatic plants. A Naturopathic doctor by training, Dr. Waddington presided over the creation of the Natural Health Products Regulations that came into force in Canada five years ago after extensive consultation with the public including herbalists, manufacturers, and First Nation people. It is considered by many to be the most intelligent and progressive modern day approach to medicinal herbal product regulations.

Sabinsa Corporation
The Herbal Industry Leader award is presented to a company with outstanding business practices. In the 21 years since Dr. Muhammed Majeed founded the Sabinsa Corporation, the company has consistently exemplified the ideal best practices in the herbal ingredients industry. It is AHPA’s great pleasure to recognize the company’s demonstrated commitment to quality, science, innovation and community with the 2009 AHPA Herbal Industry Leader award.

“AHPA honors these national and international leaders for their significant contributions to the herbal products industry,” said Michael McGuffin, the association’s president. “Each honoree is committed to excellence and understands that continual industry growth depends on the individual actions and decisions made by members of our business community.”

Left to Right: Edward Fletcher (Strategic Sourcing); Gordon Walker (Nature's Way);
Shaheen Majeed (Sabinsa) and Michael McGuffin (AHPA)