AHPA Herbal Insight Award

The AHPA Herbal Insight Award recognizes individuals or non-commercial organizations that have a significant impact on furthering knowledge and understanding of botanicals and their uses.

Past Honorees

  • Cassandra L. Quave, Ph.D. (2022)
  • Safety Call International, PLLC (2021)
  • Appalachian Beginning Forest Farmer Coalition (ABFFC) (2020)
  • Kelly Kindscher, Ph.D. at the University of Kansas (2019)
  • United Plant Savers (UpS) (2018)
  • Scott Bass, partner at Sidley Austin, LLP (2017)
  • Loren Israelsen, president of the United Natural Products Alliance (UNPA) (2017)
  • Paula Brown, Ph.D., Director of the British Columbia Institute of Technology's Natural Health and Food Products Research Group (NRG) (2016)
  • Tieraona Low Dog, M.D., nationally recognized physician, author and speaker (2015)
  • Dr. Lyle Craker, Professor, University of Massachusetts Stockbridge School of Agriculture (2014)
  • Josef Brinckmann, Vice President of Sustainability, Traditional Medicinals (2013)
  • Roy Upton, Executive Director and Editor, American Herbal Pharmacopoeia (2012)
  • Members of the Expert Advisory Council for the revision to AHPA's Botanical Safety Handbook - Zoe Gardner, Michael McGuffin, Roy Upton, Mary Hardy, Tieraona Low Dog, Aviva Romm, Soaring Bear, David Winston, Lyle Craker, and Daniel Gagnon (2011)
  • Ikhlas A. Khan, Ph.D., Assistant Director, National Center for Natural Products Research and Professor of Pharmacognosy, University of Mississippi (2010)
  • Philip Waddington, N.D., Director General, Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Canada, 2000-2008 (2009)
  • Steven Foster, President, Steven Foster Group, Inc. (2008)
  • Stephen Straus, M.D., Director, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH, 1999-2006 (2008)
  • Joseph Betz, Ph.D., Director of the Dietary Supplement Methods and Reference Materials Program, Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH (2007)
  • Norman R. Farnsworth, Ph.D., Director, Program for Collaborative Research in the Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Illinois (2006)