Botanical Congress


AHPA's 10th Botanical Congress
August 16-17, 2022 (Virtual)

AHPA’s 10th Botanical Congress is a two-day virtual symposium themed “Botanicals and Planet Earth, 2022” and will explore issues directly impacting those companies and individuals conducting business in the botanical/herbal and dietary supplement industries.

In commemoration of AHPA’s 40th anniversary, AHPA deems it fitting to also celebrate this great planet we call home by shining a  spotlight on Planet Earth during the Botanical Congress. The goal is to focus on ways the industry can address relevant issues such as impacts of climate change on specific crop availability and, more importantly, caucus amongst like-minded individuals to explore solutions that will help heal, restore and regenerate our planet. This includes taking the time to listen to the views of the next generations who will soon inherit the responsibility of caring for and maintaining the health of Planet Earth.


 
With Gratitude to the Sponsors of AHPA’s 10th Botanical Congress
 

TITLE SPONSOR

 

SESSION SPONSOR

 SESSION SPONSOR

SESSION SPONSOR

 

SESSION SPONSOR

SESSION SPONSOR

SESSION SPONSOR

 

GENERAL SPONSOR

GENERAL SPONSOR

MEDIA SPONSOR

 

 

 

 


 
Botanicals & Planet Earth, 2022

Day 1: Tuesday, August 16 | 9am-2pm PT / Noon-5pm ET

A Day of Inspiration & Aspiration

 

TIME
SESSION
PRESENTERS
9-9:10am PT
12-12:10pm ET
Welcome & Introduction
Welcome to Day 1 of AHPA’s 10th Botanical Congress:
A Day of Inspiration & Aspiration.

 
The Honorable Martin Heinrich
U.S. Senator, New Mexico

Veronica Kays ๐ŸŒฑ
Business Development Director, Dietary Supplements & Botanicals Testing, Eurofins

Michael McGuffin
President, AHPA
9:15-10:10am PT
12:15-1:10pm ET
PANEL DISCUSSION
Climate Change is Real: Case Studies on How the Environment is Impacting Your Herb Supply
According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the global average temperature increased about 1.8°F from 1901 to 2016. One-or-two-degree changes in the average temperature can cause potentially dangerous shifts in climate and weather, and result in what EPA defines as climate change impacts – visible ways that climate change is affecting Planet Earth. This engaging panel will provide real world examples of how these climate change impacts are affecting botanical supply chains.

This session is sponsored by:
MODERATOR
Bill Chioffi ๐ŸŒฑ
Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer, Nammex

PANELISTS

Cindy Angerhofer ๐ŸŒฑ
Executive Director of Botanical Research, Aveda


Nate Brennan ๐ŸŒฑ

Purchasing & Sales Manager, Pacific Botanicals

Rachel Doty ๐ŸŒฑ

Supplier Verification & Supply Chain Manager, Meridian Trading

Jan von Enden ๐ŸŒฑ

Head of Group Sustainability, MartinBauer Group
 
10:15-11am PT
1:15-2pm ET
What Consumers on Planet Earth Want: Dietary Supplement & Herbal Product Market Trends
Dietary supplement and herbal product industry growth fueled by pandemic-induced consumer demand for naturally-derived wellness and functional ingredients shows no signs of slowing down. In addition, sustainability and transparency remain top of mind as consumers shop the thousands of products and brands available to them in-store and online every day. Tune into this session for a look at the latest data and trends in the dietary supplement and herbal product categories, with presentations by experts from New Hope and SPINS.

This session is sponsored by:
MODERATOR
Sandy Almendarez 
๐ŸŒฑ
Vice President, Content, Health & Nutrition, Informa Markets

PRESENTERS

Caroline Davidson
Director, Channel Partnerships, SPINS

Tara Burkley ๐ŸŒฑ 
Strategic Business Development Director, New Hope Natural Media
11-11:15am PT
1-1:15pm ET
Networking Break
 
11:15am-12pm PT
2:15-3pm ET
KEYNOTE PRESENTATION
Humans as Agents of Dispersal, Propagation, and Reciprocity
How do we reestablish relationships with the natural world and, once again, see ourselves as agents of positive change?  Join Linda Black Elk as she discusses her own journey as part of a living landscape, and listen in as she gives tips gathered from years of visiting with elders and other knowledge holders who still maintain close ties with our non-human relatives.
KEYNOTE SPEAKER
Linda Black Elk

Catawba Nation Descendant;
Food Sovereignty Coordinator,
United Tribes Technical College
12:05-1pm PT
3:05-4pm ET
PANEL DISCUSSION
A Time to Listen

Planet Earth: it’s the only home we have. This thought-provoking session will feature leaders of tomorrow who will provide their points of view on what we can all do today to effect change in this place we call home.

This session is sponsored by:

DIRECTOR
Mark Foster
Brand Director, Bollinger Motors

MODERATOR
Michael McGuffin
President, AHPA

PANELISTS
Youth and climate activists passionate about the state of Planet Earth


Isabelle Duvivier
Co-Founder, Verdant Venice Group

Noel Johnston
Co-Founder, Verdant Venice Group

Janin Paine

Founder, Habitatz - Millions of Monarchs Project

1:05-1:55pm PT
4:05-4:55pm ET
Transforming Hope to Action
Day 1 of AHPA’s 10th Botanical Congress will conclude by spotlighting three organizations actively confronting contemporary climate challenges. Through their vision, dedication, and community efforts, these passionate individuals counter the notion that nothing can be done about our shared environmental concerns and have transformed hope to action.
MODERATOR
Holly E. Johnson, Ph.D.
Chief Science Officer, AHPA

PRESENTERS

Byron Kominek
Owner & Manager, Jack’s Solar Garden

Gabriela Gard

Project Manager (Latin America and the Caribbean) & Forest Manager, One Tree Planted


David Hertz
Founder, Skysource.org & Skysource Resilience Labs; Inventor of WEDEW
2pm PT
5pm ET
Adjournment
Michael McGuffin
President, AHPA

Day 2: Wednesday, August 17 | 9am-12:15pm PT / 12-3:15pm ET

A Day of Action

 

TIME
SESSION
PRESENTER(S)
9-9:10am PT
12-12:10pm ET
Welcome & Introduction
Welcome to Day 2 of AHPA’s 10th Botanical Congress:
A Day of Action is designed to provide practical tools to conduct an environmental audit of your business.

 
Michael McGuffin
President, AHPA
9:15-10am PT
12:15-1pm ET
PANEL DISCUSSION
How to Conduct an Environmental Audit for Your Organization
As your company’s sustainability practices develop, it’s essential to conduct an internal audit of your organization by analyzing current business practices and setting new goals and targets. Attend this session to learn how industry leaders are integrating these processes in their facilities and operations.

This session is sponsored by:

 
MODERATOR
Erin Smith ๐ŸŒฑ
VP of Herbal Science & Research, Banyan Botanicals

PANELIST

Chi Hee Kim 
๐ŸŒฑ

Sr. Director, Global Government Affairs, Herbalife Nutrition

Zacharia Levine ๐ŸŒฑ

DIrector of People & Sustainability,
The Synergy Company
10:05-11am PT
1:05-2pm ET
Becoming a Zero Waste Certified Facility
Zero waste certification is an effective method of delivery to the consumer that a company and/or its products are environmentally conscious with a keen focus on being eco-friendly at the highest level. Certifications show total commitment to zero waste. Take note as Mountain Rose Herbs and Gaia Herbs share their journey to becoming zero waste certified facilities.

This session is sponsored by:

 
MODERATOR
Cynthia Meyer, Esq. ๐ŸŒฑ
Partner, Kleinfeld, Kaplan & Becker, LLP

PRESENTERS

Inna Kitaychik
Operations Manager, Responsible Biofuels & Zero Waste, SCS Global Services

Shawn Donnille ๐ŸŒฑ

Owner & CEO, Mountain Rose Herbs

Alison Czeczuga ๐ŸŒฑ
Director of Social Impact and Sustainability, Gaia Herbs
11-11:15am PT
2-2:15pm ET
Networking Break
 
11:15am-12:10pm PT
2:15-3:10pm ET
PANEL DISCUSSION
The Movement Toward B Corp Certification
B Corp certification is a designation that a business is meeting high standards of verified performance, accountability, and transparency on factors from employee benefits and charitable giving to supply chain practices and input materials. B Lab is the nonprofit entity that was created to certify B Corporations. Attend this session as AHPA members share their journey in becoming B Corp certified. A representative from B Lab will guide the conversation and provide insight about the certification process.

This session is sponsored by:

MODERATOR & PRESENTER
Max Hayes
Evaluation Specialist,
Business Development, B Lab


PRESENTERS
Alexis Durham ๐ŸŒฑ
Director of Botanical Affairs,
Herb Pharm


Erin Smith ๐ŸŒฑ

VP of Herbal Science & Research, Banyan Botanicals

12:15pm PT
3:15pm ET

Adjournment

Michael McGuffin
President, AHPA

_________________
๐ŸŒฑ
AHPA Member 

For information about AHPA Botanical Congress sponsorship or AHPA membership, please contact us at sponsorship@ahpa.org.