AHPA Awards

First presented in 2006, the annual AHPA Awards acknowledge individuals and organizations that make substantive, positive contributions to the herbal and natural products industries.

AHPA Award Categories  

  • AHPA Herbal Hero Award: recognizes an individual who makes an outstanding contribution to AHPA committees or initiatives.

  • AHPA Herbal Industry Leadership Award: recognizes a company that sets an example of outstanding business practices or an organization that works to move the industry forward above and beyond normal business practices.

  • AHPA Herbal Insight Award: recognizes individuals or non-commercial organizations that have a significant impact on furthering knowledge and understanding of botanicals and their uses.

  • AHPA Herbal Diversity and Inclusion Award: recognizes excellence in commitment to the values of diversity, inclusion and equality benefitting both the herbal products industry and broader society.

  • AHPA Environmental Impact Award: recognizes an individual, organization, or company that has implemented innovative sustainable or regenerative business practices that will continue to have a meaningful positive impact on the environment.

Congratulations to the 2024 AHPA Award winners!

  • Herbal Hero Award: Will Woodlee

  • Herbal Industry Leadership Award: Pacific Botanicals

  • Herbal Insight Award: Sidney Sudberg

  • Herbal Diversity & Inclusion Award: Women in Nutraceuticals (WIN)

  • Environmental Impact Award: Susan Leopold

  • Herbal Advocacy Award: NOW Foods

  • Herbal Champion Award: Governor Bill Richardson

From left: Sidney Sudberg, Heather Granato (WIN), Tony Martinez (on behalf of the late Governor Bill Richardson),
Katie B
anaszewski (NOW Foods), Nate Brennan (Pacific Botanicals), Susan Leopold, and Will Woodlee 

Learn more about the 2024 AHPA Award winners >>

Nomination & Selection Process

  • Only individuals employed by an AHPA member company may nominate individuals or companies for AHPA Awards.

  • AHPA Herbal Hero Award nominees must be employed by an AHPA member company

  • AHPA Herbal Industry Leadership nominees must be an AHPA member company.

  • AHPA Herbal Insight Award nominees do not need to be associated with an AHPA member company, but this award is limited to individuals or non-commercial organizations only.

After the nomination period closes, nominees will be reviewed by members of the AHPA Communications Committee, which represents a diverse group of industry stakeholders. The AHPA Communications Committee recommends recipients for each award category and presents these recommendations to the AHPA Board of Trustees for approval.

Past Honorees

AHPA Herbal Hero Award

  • Asa Waldstein, Supplement Advisory Group (2023)

  • Marc Allen, Herb Pharm (2022)

  • Rob Wildman, TYM Athletic Performance (2021)

  • Wilson Lau, Nuherbs (2020)

  • Steven Yeager, Mountain Rose Herbs (2019)

  • AHPA GACP/GMP Working Group (2018)

  • Suzanne Shelton, The Shelton Group (2017)

  • Steven Dentali, Herbalife (2016)

  • Dick Griffin, Grifcon Enterprises (2015)

  • Daniel Gagnon, Herbs, Etc. (2014)

  • Sidney Sudberg & Elan Sudberg, Alkemists Labs (2013)

  • Mitch Coven, Vitality Works (2012)

  • Edward J. Fletcher, Strategic Sourcing (2011)

  • Katie Huggins, Traditional Medicinals (2010)

  • Gordon Walker, Nature’s Way (2009)

  • Anthony Young, Kleinfeld, Kaplan & Becker, LLP (2008)

  • Beth Lambert, Herbalist & Alchemist (2007)

  • Staci Eisner, PlusPharma (2006)

AHPA Herbal Industry Leadership Award

  • Natural Remedies (2023)

  • Celestial Seasonings (2022)

  • Herbalife Nutrition (2021)

  • ​Verdure Sciences (2020)

  • Oregon's Wild Harvest (2019)

  • Indena S.p.A. (2018)

  • BI Nutraceuticals (2017)

  • Aveda (2016)

  • Mountain Rose Herbs (2015)

  • Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps (2014)

  • Trout Lake Farm, with special recognition of Martha Jane Johnson (2013)

  • Tom's of Maine (2012)

  • NOW Foods (2011)

  • Gaia Herbs (2010)

  • Sabinsa Corporation (2009)

  • Herb Pharm (2008)

  • Traditional Medicinals (2007)

  • Nature’s Way Products (2006)

AHPA Herbal Insight Award

  • David Winston, Herbalist & Alchemist (2023)

  • Cassandra L. Quave, Quave Research Group & Emory University (2022)

  • Safety Call International (2021)

  • Appalachian Beginning Forest Farmer Coalition (ABFFC) (2020)

  • Kelly Kindscher, University of Kansas (2019)

  • United Plant Savers (2018)

  • Scott Bass, Sidley Austin, LLP (2017)

  • Loren Israelsen, United Natural Products Alliance (2017)

  • Paula Brown, British Columbia Institute of Technology's Natural Health and Food Products Research Group (2016)

  • Tieraona Low Dog, nationally recognized physician, author and speaker (2015)

  • Dr. Lyle Craker, University of Massachusetts Stockbridge School of Agriculture (2014)

  • Josef Brinckmann, Traditional Medicinals (2013)

  • Roy Upton, American Herbal Pharmacopoeia (2012)

  • Members of the Expert Advisory Council for the revision to AHPA's Botanical Safety Handbook - Zoe Gardner, Michael McGuffin, Roy Upton, Mary Hardy, Tieraona Low Dog, Aviva Romm, Soaring Bear, David Winston, Lyle Craker, and Daniel Gagnon (2011)

  • Ikhlas A. Khan, National Center for Natural Products Research and University of Mississippi (2010)

  • Philip Waddington, Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Canada, 2000-2008 (2009)

  • Steven Foster, Steven Foster Group (2008)

  • Stephen Straus, National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH, 1999-2006 (2008)

  • Joseph Betz, Dietary Supplement Methods and Reference Materials Program, Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH (2007)

  • Norman R. Farnsworth, Program for Collaborative Research in the Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Illinois (2006)

AHPA Herbal Diversity & Inclusion Award

  • Planting Justice (2022)

  • Naturade (2021)

​AHPA Environmental Impact Award

  • Shawn Donnille, Mountain Rose Herbs (2023)

  • Rodale Institute (2022)

Special Awards

  • 2023 AHPA Herbal Pioneer Award: Lise Groleau

  • 2023 AHPA Lifetime Achievement in Collaboration Award: Joseph Betz

  • 2021 AHPA Centennial Award: Indena

  • 2021 AHPA Herbal Pioneer Award: Tony Hayes

  • 2020 AHPA Visionary Award: Dr. Ed Alstat

  • 2019 AHPA Herbal Pioneer Award: Sara Katz, Herb Pharm

  • 2019 AHPA Super Natural Award: Mark Blumenthal, American Botanical Council

  • 2018 AHPA Lifetime Achievement in Research Award: Dr. James A. (Jim) Duke

  • 2018 AHPA Lifetime Achievement in Legislation Award: Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

  • 2018 AHPA Journalistic Excellence Award: Heather Granato, Informa

  • 2017 AHPA Visionary Award: Elwood Richard, Founder of NOW Foods

  • 2016 AHPA Lifetime Achievement Award: Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA)

  • 2016 AHPA Visionary Award: Robert (Bob) Ullman (posthumous)

  • 2015 AHPA Journalistic Excellence Award: Stephen Daniells & Hank Schultz, NutraIngredients-USA

  • 2014 AHPA Visionary Award: Virgo Executive Team

  • 2013 AHPA Visionary Award: Lynda LeMole

  • 2012 AHPA Visionary Award: Michael Roland Shaw Moore, Former Author and Teacher

  • 2011 AHPA Visionary Award: James A. May, CEO of Wisdom Natural Brands